Oro Chamber inducts 34th Officers & Board of Trustees

The premier chamber of commerce in Northern Mindanao marks another milestone today with the induction of its 34th set of Officers and Board of Trustees.

First convened by then PCCI Northern Mindanao Regional Governor Dante P. Sarraga on December 1982 with a group of 25 founding member companies, this first iteration elected the late Dr. Virgilio Neri, Sr. as its first president.

Rare Photo of Past Oro Chamber Presidents during a 2017 Reunion at David’s Tea House. Standing (left to right): Robert Pizarro, Efren Uy, Jess Paras, Jeffrey Ang, Elpie Paras, Ruben Vegafria, Tony Uy, Guido Delgado, and Bob Togle. Sitting (left to right): Ralph Paguio, Bobby Sebastian, Bong Pelaez, Dodong Donggay, Al Manus, Ghaye Alegrio, and Milton Along.  
(photo courtesy of Guido Alfredo A. Delgado)

However, with the untimely demise of Dr. Neri, the chamber went into an unplanned hiatus until revived with a new board on October 1984 with Aldrico T. Manus as president.

The Cagayan de Oro Chamber of Commerce and Industry Foundation, Inc., (Oro Chamber) gained a legal personality when it was officially registered with the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) on March 29, 1985. (see related Early History of Oro Chamber on  page).

Today, the Oro Chamber holds its virtual 4th General Membership Meeting for 2020 concurrent with the induction of the 2021 Oro Chamber Officers.

To be inducted into office are the following: Jaime Rafael U. Pagiuo, chairman of the board’ Ruben A. Vegafria, president; Arthur B. Quiblat, VP (Agriculture & Agribusiness); Agnes O. Adviento, VP (Business Support Organizations); Robertino E. Pizarro, VP (Manufacturing & Industry); Helen Grace P. Uy, VP (Services);  Dennis T. Mackun (Trade & Commerce); Antonio S. Soriano (Corporate Secretary); Pio D. Baconga (Treasurer) and Jesus M. Jardin (Auditor).

Also to be inducted as members of the Board of Trustees are the following: Jolly D. Gallamanso, (Agriculture & Agribusiness); Peleberto D. Acut, (Manufacturing & Industry); Jeffrey T. Ang (Services); Jan Michael S. Uy and Efren T. Uy (Trade & Commerce).

Ambassador Benedicto V. Yujuico, Philippine Chamber of Commerce and Industry (PCCI) President, will induct the new set of officers into office.

For the business portion of the GMM, Robertino E. Pizarro will render his annual report, to be followed by the Ratification of the Oro Chamber By-Laws to be presented by Corporate Secretary Antonio S. Soriano.

Following the turnover of the gavel from Pizarro to Vegafria as the new president and the latter’s acceptance speech, VP Agnes O. Adviento will moderate the recognition and presentation of service awards to outstanding members.

Besides Ambassador Yujuico, the event will also be graced by PCCI Mindanao Area Vice President Ma. Teresa R. Alegrio and PCCI Northern Mindanao Regional Governor Roderico Bioco.

Besides being the first Oro Chamber to head PCCI’s Mindanao Area as its area vice president, Alegrio is also the first Oro Chamber Secretary General to be elected Oro Chamber President and also subsequently served as PCCI Region X governor.


Loader Loading…
EAD Logo Taking too long?

Reload Reload document
| Open Open in new tab

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.